German Power: DIY Sebastian Vettel and Nico Hulkenberg-Themed Cross-Stitched Bookmark/ Pop Art/ Keychain/ Bagtag.

Standard

coverp

That was quite a mouthful. Try saying that ten times in a row. Anyway, my apologies as brevity is not exactly my strong suit.

It has been a while since my last F1 crafting project, and this time around I have decided to make something to celebrate two of the German drivers I like (after Michael Schumacher, of course) for their moxie, elephant balls (on the racing track obviously, I can’t vouch for what they have off-track) and general racing awesomeness.

I have more-than-decent drawing skills (I am an architect, after all), but why draw when you can…cross-stitch? Yes, I embrace my Inner Grandma and am darn proud of it!

Before I digress, here’s the proof of how one (or two) cross-stitch work can actually have four different functions:

As Bookmarks: Use them as they are

hulk bookmark

seb bookmark

.

As Pop Art: Display them as they are or frame them.

hulk pop art

seb pop art

hulk and seb pop art.

As Keychains: I simply bought soft plastic ID cases, placed the cross-stitch works inside, and then attached a metal binder ring and a black-and-gold (for Hulk’s)/red (for Seb’s) belt-like bracelet. Alternatively, you can also use a ribbon of your choice, a thin rope or a metal carabiner.

hulk keychain

seb keychain

hulk and seb keychains

.

As Bag Tags: Same with the keychains, except I inserted a card at the back where you can write your personal details such as name, address, etc.

hulk bagtag1

seb bagtag1

hulk seb bagtag back

seb hulk bagtag back

.*Competition/raffle closed! Seb and Hulk are now with their new owners. Check this blog regularly for news of more goodies up for grabs! 🙂

.

P.S.

For patterns and the detailed how-to guide on this project, please head over to my other blog, Marjitecture.

Leave a Reply

