The Woeful State of Liverpool

Standard

Today, I woke up to the mind-boggling aftermath of Liverpool’s 2-1 defeat to Blackpool last night.

Yes, the same Blackpool who’s only been recently promoted to the English Premier League from the Championship.

Actually, it’s not so much about the defeat to the club Blackpool per se, more so about the now glaring fact that Liverpool is currently 18th in the Premier League Table and is on the dreaded Relegation Zone.

Dear God, what is this world coming to?

Having been a Red for nearly two decades now, I’m cognizant of the fact that it’s not always rainbows and butterflies in football, and I’ve experienced my fair share of ups and downs, however, the cloud of uncertainty that is hovering above the future of the club right now is so dark and ominous that it is almost driving me into the vicious cycle of Denial-Anger.

It’s not even purely about the football anymore. The dire financial situation of the club is what’s unsettling everyone, and the longer it takes for the club to find new owners, the longer it will take for the whole club and its fans to tread the tightrope of maddening despair.

We have not hit rock bottom yet, but we’re getting pretty close, and once the impact hits, there’s still going to be aftershocks.

As of now, I am above playing the blame game. I do not want Roy Hodgson out, I shan’t castigate Fernando Torres’ lack of goals or the lack of creativity from our midfield, or the obvious lack of defensive competence. The parts doesn’t matter as much as the broken and unraveling whole. All, and the best I can do right now is to simply keep the faith.

Let it out, Nando. I know EXACTLY how you feel.

Hopefully, I will be able to read this in a few months’ time and get a good laugh. I really do. The only way to go now is up.

We Are Liverpool FC. You’ll Never Walk Alone. Never forget that.

Leave a Reply

